i know a story that no one’s ever told

December 2, 2013

Screen shot 2013-12-02 at 7.44.22 AM

I always wished I could be a painter or a filmmaker,
anything but a fucking photographer.
I certainly didn’t want to be in a photography gallery.

Screen shot 2013-12-02 at 7.49.13 AM

The work all comes from a psychological need.
See the images that I make… It’s really a psychological need.
I’m just jerked around by it. I’m pulled by it.

Screen shot 2013-12-02 at 8.03.17 AM

[Eugene Smith] was always writing these diatribes about truth,
and how he wanted to tell the truth, the truth, the truth.
It was a real rebel position.
It was kind of like a teenager’s position:
why can’t things be like they should be? Why can’t I do what I want?
I latched on to that philosophy.
One day I snapped, hey, you know,
I know a story that no one’s ever told, never seen, and I’ve lived it.
It’s my own story and my friends’ story.

Screen shot 2013-12-02 at 8.08.20 AM

I just happened to have my camera and be photographing my friends.
It was totally innocent; there was no purpose to the photographs.
There was a purity to them that wasn’t planned; it was realism.

Screen shot 2013-12-02 at 7.45.52 AM

At the end of the day, what I show is real life.
I tell the truth. And the truth can be shocking.

~*~

Photographs by Alessandro Simonetti
Quotes by Larry Clark

One Response to “i know a story that no one’s ever told”

  1. Ruby Ray said

    wow, I know the feeling!!!

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 821 other followers

